NaPoWriMo #16 Terzenelle

Who says poets don’t work hard? I feel liked I’ve walked ten miles. Almost caught up- will manage #12 some other day. It’s an easy one, thank Brigit (Celtic goddess of poetry).  This is such an interesting form though.  I like the cadence better than that of the villanelle.

Fresh Blood Flows

~

Sometimes, when light glances off your cheekbone, shadowing the skin below

a certain note, some darkling tone, falls from your lips upon my ear

memory dumps me on old battlefields, opening wounds whose fresh blood flow

~

negates with echoing deeds and word more solid truths that I hold dear.

We make up mantras, rites, jokes; tradition helps, at times like this, to quell

when certain notes, some darkling tone, falls from your lips upon my ear.

~

Fear floods heart, knots tighten diaphragm, no breath to whimper, howl or yell

of nightmare past, insidious lying dramas dormant in my brain—

we make up mantras, rites, jokes; tradition helps, at times like this, to quell.

~

Affirmations, blessing lists, good deeds, kind words allow me to refrain

reworking ancient neuron paths, deviate round stinking garbage heaps

of nightmare past, insidious lying dramas dormant in my brain.

~

Memory plays endless dirty tricks, imagination loves its leaps

I stake claim to happiness in extant time, awake to all that is.

Reworking ancient neuron trails, I’ll deviate round garbage heaps

~

eschew in timely manner what’s not now, embrace present’s joyful fizz

This time, when light glances off your cheekbone, shadowing the skin below

I stake claim to happiness in extant time, awake to all that is.

No memory dumps me on old battlefields, opens wounds whose fresh blood flows.

~

 

©2015 Christine Irving
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, Heroine/Hero's Journey, Herstory, Love, NaPoWriMo and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

